New Music

Kafka Fragments: Stacie Dunlop and Andrea Neumann

Saturday, May 3, 2014, 7:15 pm

Pre-Concert Talk: 7:15 p.m.
Soprano Stacie Dunlop and violinist Andrea Neumann will present a concert of György Kurtág’s Kafka Fragments. This work consists of forty miniatures with text drawn from the diaries, letters, and notebooks of Franz Kafka. Ranging in length from a few seconds to several minutes, these fragments give us a glimpse of Kafka’s many faces. This cycle aims to show the connection Kurtág felt with the existential alienation that Kafka expressed about his own life. Come hear this sometimes poignant, sometimes humorous masterpiece of contemporary music.
“What happened in last [. . .] night’s performance was extraordinary and Ms. Dunlop and Ms. Neumann achieved the highest artistic success with these works.” – Calgary Herald, about a recent performance of Kafka Fragments

Andrea Neumann is a Calgary-based violinist who is sought after as a concert soloist, teacher, adjudicator, and chamber and orchestral musician.

With a voice that has been described as a “powerful demonstration of musical artistry wed to superb technique,” soprano Stacie Dunlop is an avid freelance performer of contemporary music. Highly involved in the creation of new music, Dunlop has commissioned works from Canadian composers R.

Allison Cameron In Concert

Saturday, April 12, 2014, 7:00 pm

Victoria — On Saturday, April 12, 2014, at 7:00 p.m., musician and composer Allison Cameron will present a solo concert of improvised and composed works. Drawing from a mixed bag of instruments, Cameron’s music is both eclectic and innovative. Her concerts have been known to include (but are not limited to) keyboards, Honeytone mini amplifiers, ukulele, banjo, radios, a desktop theremin, drums, drum machines, crackle box-synth, cassette tapes, miscellaneous objects, and toys amplified with a variety of contact mics and a variety of guitar pedals. Come see what Cameron has in store for Victoria. This is a concert not to miss.

Allison Cameron is a composer of mostly chamber works that have been performed throughout Europe and North America. She is also active as an experimental performer.

Mark McGregor: The Flute

Sunday, March 23, 2014, 2:30 pm

Mark McGregor will present the range of possibilities of that magnificent instrument we call the flute. Along with standard playing techniques, McGregor will demonstrate some of the more exotic capabilities of the instrument. Using excerpts from the repertoire, McGregor will demonstrate a number of the flute’s extended performance techniques, resulting in sounds that you may have never thought possible from such a humble instrument. This demonstration will include such evocative techniques as the “tongue ram” and “jet whistle,” as well as “key slaps” and “multiphonics.”
This presentation will benefit composers who want to explore some of the alternative uses of flute in contemporary music, flute players who want to expand their understanding of the possibility of their instrument, and members of the general public who have an interest and curiosity about music and the flute.

Andrea Young Performs "Through the Window and the Wood"

Saturday, March 15, 2014, 1:00 pm

New music concert followed by Q&A with Andrea Young, Daniel Brandes, Benjamin Brandes
On Saturday, March 15, 2014, starting at 1:00 p.m, composer/performer Andrea Young will premiere Through the Window and the Wood by Victoria composer Daniel Brandes with text by poet Benjamin Brandes. Throughout this hyper-minimal and transparent work for voice and live electronics, audience members will be invited to sit or lie down, quietly wander about the gallery, coming and going as they please. The entire performance will last 2hr40min, after which there will be a short Q&A with Andrea Young, Daniel Brandes, and Benjamin Brandes.
To celebrate the premiere of Through the Window and the Wood, a limited edition volume of Benjamin’s poetry (which includes a digital download of Through the Window and the Wood) will be available. 

DANIEL BRANDES (b. 1985) is a composer who lives in Victoria, British Columbia with his wife and cat. He is a resoundingly bad, but earnest, five-string banjo player.

Victoria Score Reading Club and Vocal Works of Odeya Nini

Thursday, February 20, 2014, 7:00 pm

On Thursday, February 20, 2014, starting at 7:00 p.m., Open Space will host the first Victoria Score Reading Club of 2014 with composer Mitch Renaud, who will be presenting Gradients of Detail (2005–6) for string quartet by Chiyoko Szlavnics. Following Renaud’s presentation, we will be breaking with Score Reading Club tradition and Los Angeles composer/vocalist Odeya Nini will present some of her own works and insights to her compositional and improvisational practice.

Chiyoko Szlavnics was born and raised in Toronto, Canada, and has lived in Berlin, Germany, since 1998.


Subscribe to RSS - New Music